time to relax

Saturday 16 April

As the week went on, my body cried out for an increasing amount of attention. Alongside the all too familiar muscular aches and spasms in upper and lower limbs, the spasms in the calves now accompanied by random painful twinges in the thigh muscles, my GORD (reflux) symptoms seemed to flare up once again, in spite of having resumed the double dose of ppi’s.

A totally aching shattered tiredness has frequently caught me unawares mid-evening, my minimum twelve hours bed-rest per day (apparently) not serving to alleviate this excruciating fatigue in any way. At times, whilst (relatively) comfortably seated, a floating giddy headedness accompanied by peristaltic waves of nausea overwhelms me. It feels at times as if the whole ribcage is convulsively contracting and an examination by my GP, yesterday afternoon, confirmed much volatility in the abdominal region for which he has prescribed some anti-spasmodics as well as arranging for me to have a colonoscopy. I’ve got to admit that the combination of GORD and a spastic colon is not one that I would recommend.

Today has been a day of glorious sunshine and, I’ve spent several enjoyable hours sat beside the garden pond whilst ma belle pursued her task of clearing away some of the ground elder from one of the garden borders. Prior to that leisurely open air pursuit, we had both enjoyed watching “The Taming of the Shrew”, shown as a tribute to Elizabeth Taylor – the chemistry between her and Burton is so wonderful to witness. And now, as I scribble these hasty words, we’re watching “Elizabeth Taylor – A Tribute” on BBC2.

published yesterday on my Sinna Luvva blog as “and a little relief”

*********

Sunday 17 April

Another afternoon in the garden, primarily with sun hat donned, relaxing in the shade of a parasol. Once again ma belle donned her gardening gear, on her return from morning worship, and has been tackling further border areas in an attempt to slow down the ground elder’s rate of advance. Mid- afternoon I decided to load a wheelbarrow with the rich humus from the bottom of our compost bin and duly scattered it across the border that was yesterdays scene of Helen’s battle against the pernicious weed (ground elder).

My body informed me that it was time to quit the exertion routine by the time I’d dealt with that one barrowload; I don’t really intend to risk any dispiritingly excruciating post-exertional malaise. Relaxation is also the theme for the evening; having watched ‘Songs Of Praise’ with my beloved she then headed off to Hampsthwaite where she’s taking the service this evening and, on her return, we’ll probably switch on ITV for a bit of escapism compliments of “Lewis”.

I rejoice and am glad in this day the Lord has made!

published today on my Sinna Luvva blog as “… and RELAX (again)”

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Health and wellness, Miscellaneous/Personal, nature / weather and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

