plumbing the heights and scaling the depths

A dull,
numb, lightly throbbing pressure behind the eyeballs; a leaden ache above the
eyebrows; a general sense of hollowness within the skull and torso – the kind
of discomfort that it is so difficult to express. Today, this has taken pole
position against the competing sharper, sometimes excruciating, pains and
discomfort emanating from the sciatic nerve.

 

It’s extremely
difficult to formulate a table of aches, pains and discomfort; how does a constant
low key gnawing, of a bruising kind, compare to an experience of an acute
electric shock? Can numbness in any way be correlated with a more instantly
sharply stinging sensation?

 

What does
one express on a visit to the GP?

 

In my case
it’s always the (perhaps transient) currently preoccupying dis-ease that is foremost
in the more general catalogue of sensations; the ongoing symptoms of a chronic
condition are rarely raised. These (permanent) discomforts are always least
apparent when one has the physical and emotional stamina required to make, or
permit my beloved to make, the appointment in the first place.  I am fortunate with my GP’s, that they
generally give me the time necessary to make the point but, even so, there are
always the omnipresent discomforts that I don’t want to bother them with.

 

I suppose
that the recent disabling excruciating pain, caused by a herniated disc, so overshadowed
my regular discomforting companions that, had I been able to overlook the
surface anguish, I could have imagined myself as being in the best of health.

 

The snow,
outside of course, reflects the sunshine’s dazzling glare around the sitting
room; my eyes ache from this glorious assault. The gas fire is turned up high
but, the cold shudders, which I’m experiencing, strive to deny the fact.

This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

