A Little Miracle

Technorati Tags: ,,

Having recently written about my inability to concentrate on any sustained piece of music, something of a miracle occurred today. In the course of the day, so far, I’ve listened to both Plainsong, and Palestrina’s ‘Stabat Mater’, Liszt’s ‘Via Crucis’, excerpts from Verdi’s ‘Requiem’ and Verdi’s ‘Four Sacred Pieces’.

Perhaps it’s the special nature of the day, in the Christian calendar, which enabled me to really listen, without drifting off into some kind of mind-numbing fog. No matter how much my faith may fluctuate, I am well and truly hooked on the potency of Christian symbolism. A symbol is of course much more than a signpost; whilst a sign quite simply draws one’s attention to something, a symbol enables one to, in some way, participate in the event. So today I was drawn into the Good Friday experience and am enthusiastically preparing to rejoice in that event known as the resurrection come Easter Day.

Today, a little miracle occurred and my spirit was lifted through the mystery that is music!

**************************

An earlier posting today, And Was My Friday Good, which incorporates some Maundy Thursday meandering, can be found on ‘The Word of Sinna Luvva’

This entry was posted in Faith Matters/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Miracle

  1. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Malcolm and Helen,
     
    A truly meaningful post and I loved the fact that you were able to concentrate on the music for this solumn of days.
     
    I popped by to thank you for your visit and to wish you and Helen a wonderful Easter. The earth is still somewhat frozen so little life for another two weeks I fear.  I hope you are well.     Fondly, Bittersweet

Leave a Reply

