A Question of Proportion

A belated emergence into another crisp bright day, draw back the curtains to see a blue transit van outside. Sure enough, the gardener has arrived to do a bit more sorting out. Today’s task was to clear the overgrown path, at the opposite side of the garden to his previous work here. I’m constantly amazed by the amount of graft a fit, and knowledgeable, younger person is able to put into a few hours. I’m sure that, even in my healthier days, it would have taken me the best part of a week to achieve the results that he obtains in six hours.

 

I must admit to a degree of envy, as I observe the progress he’s making; long gone are the days when I did gardening, as a regular vacation job, in my student days. Occasionally, I pop out to the garden with a cup of tea and, appreciate the way things are shaping up. I was oblivious to the fact that there had ever been a stone edging to the border at this side of the garden; just goes to show how long the path has been overgrown.

 

It’s always good to have a personal recommendation for anyone who’s going to do work for you. We heard about this gardener from a work colleague of Helens who was a fellow student at Horticulture College and, we’ve certainly found a real gem!

 

Only problem is, as I observe the transformation, the temptation for me to go out and do a bit more pottering around increases in intensity. I must be strong and resist such urges; although the actual exertion may be enjoyable, the aftermath clearly demonstrates that it is quite simply not good for one’s health!

 

Perhaps, one day, I’ll intuitively get the proportions right.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Question of Proportion

  1. Suki x says:

    Thank you for sharing this experience with us, I know how you are thinking too, look out wish to be able to get right in there and make a visible difference to the garden, I bet you go out and have a potter when the \’youth\’ has gone, even though it is February the coldest month I have put up  a few polly tunnels and sown some carrotts beetroot and spinach, well we shall see what mother earth well give up to us
     
    Om shanti
     
    Suki x

  2. Renuka says:

    Hello malcolm,
    How have you been and Helen is surely bright light…Its wonderful you have a good gardener who does things as you want..I know the urge must be there to do things yourself but looking at a beautiful garden is good enough especially when its your own…enjoy your garden and sunshine…

  3. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Malcolm,
    I must admit i am a bit jealous of the gardening that is taking place!  Is it warm enough to begin thinking about the outdoors? Our ground is still frozen although some snowdrops have popped up. They do make their appearance here early.  Well, we do get our first snowstorm of the season. Now they say it might be the second largest snowfall of the decade and it seems to be growing by the minute.  It starts tonight and should end Thursday morning.  The outdoor holiday lights are still on tree so I just might have some fun with it.  I hope all is well with you and Helen.  Happy St. Valentine\’s Day.   Bittersweet on-the-hill.

Leave a Reply

