Just Another Day

Shattered; that’s both the starting point and the keynote of my day. Twelve and a half hours after snuggling down into the duvet realm, a tortuous effort of will was required to prise myself forth into the new day. Each step is a struggle, as the ache in my back, just above the hip, amplifies the force of each footfall. Somehow, one’s posture changes with each step and, the sharp ache in the back seems to relish the prospect of joining forces with the dull pain in the neck muscles.

 

A wreck, an overwrought carcase, stewing in its own broth of familiar ailments; but it’s all I have! A brief walk around the block may just as well have been a military expedition, the body returns home quite shell-shocked from this moderate exertion.

 

The web is surfed in short sharp bouts, concentration is at even more of a premium than seems to be my norm but, I’m here and writing about it. I’m aware (if not totally alert), food in my belly, a roof over my head and, the love of a good woman! What more should I want?

This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Another Day

  1. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Good morning Malcolm and Helen,
    I\’m so sorry your day started with that intensity of pain. Some days you just have to wonder but with herculean effort you manage to get through and lo and behold, there comes a better day.  I hope you are feeling better.
    Thank you for stopping by.  AS you have sensed, I do enjoy my home and I truly treasure those moments/hours/days I can withdraw from the world. I love my isolation and those alone moments are my most cherished. The quiet of home is a beautiful gift.   Blessings……Bittersweet

Leave a Reply

