Familiarity is the Spice of Life

Whilst my beloved went to the Theology School at Trinity this morning, I was lazily catching up on some bed rest. Shortly after Helen’s well post-noon return, from Trinity, we hand-in-handed it, along highways and byways, like a couple of young lovers. Even though this quite brisk stroll re-energized me to some extent, I was quite content to allow my beloved to prepare me a belated breakfast, of the full-English variety. Much appreciated.

 

The afternoon passed swiftly as I started preparations for Sunday lunch. No matter what the dish I’m preparing, I always enjoy pre-heating a few spices, releasing those wonderful aromas that get my digestive and creative juices flowing. Today’s resultant dish, I’m pleased to report, once more meets my exacting standards; we don’t anticipate being disappointed come tomorrow lunchtime.

 

Tonight’s accompaniment to our telly gawping has been a rather luscious ‘Lucarelli Chardonnay, 2002’, from the Puglia region, mentioned only because it deserves it; a very worthy successor to last night’s ‘Vega Oliveras Tempranilo, 2004.

 

If I’m not careful, I’ll get far too used to this rather sedentary lifestyle.

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Familiarity is the Spice of Life

  1. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    I think I could follow you around in the kitchen all day long!   It sounds and "smells" wonderful.  Even from here.   Bittersweet

Leave a Reply

