Up the garden path

Yesterday,fatigue was once again the keynote of my day,  though not as discomfortingly so as has frequently been my lot over the past couple of years. An inability to stick to any little task, I set myself, was the greatest frustration. Nevertheless, I still managed to enjoy my day, paying occasional visits to the wildlife friendly end of the garden.

 

Several pairs of Ringlets (Aphantopus hyperantus) were contentedly coupling amongst the grasses and ferns, joyously ensuring the survival of the species. Meadow Browns (Maniola jurtina), Small Heath (Coenonymph pamphilus) and Small Tortoiseshell (Aglais urticae) were also in evidence. One of the ST’s obligingly settled on the gravel, adjacent to the pond, ensuring a ready-made photo opportunity.

 

It really is such a privilege, to be able to spend a few minutes (or oft times much longer) in the garden, revelling in the abundance of nature. I still get a buzz of excitement, as the goldfish emerge from under their abundant canopy of lily pads and, never cease to be amazed by their rapid response to the dispensing of a few floating food sticks!

 

Not much more to report but, what more could one wish for!

 

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous/Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Up the garden path

  1. Bittersweet on-the-hill. says:

    Hello Malcolm,
         It was a joy to read your entry.  Your gardens sound wonderful. Several years ago we had a fish pond and I must admit the goldfish and koy gave us tremendous pleasure.  Ultimately we had 13 in the pond and everytime I went by the pond I\’d always stop and start counting. And I must say the waterlillies were always beautiful.. I hope you enjoy them and hope you are feeling well.  My best,   Bittersweet on the hill.

Leave a Reply

